Sergey Mikhailov

Born in 1971 in Arkhangelsk.

In 1988 Sergey enrolled in the International Journalism Faculty (public relations section) of the Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO) under the Russian Foreign Ministry. He studied Arabic and English and completed two internships in US universities during his training. In 1990, he was one of the founders of the Russian Public Relations Association (RPRA). He is credited with coining the Russian-language version of the term “public relations”- “razvitie obschestvennykh svyazey” - and was one of the pioneers of the profession in Russia.

In 1992 he became a partner in the Korporatsiya “Ya” advertising agency, and in 1993 graduated from MGIMO with a degree in public relations and established the Mikhailov & Partners PR agency. He then headed the Agency for more than 10 years, during which time it successfully completed over 1,000 different projects in the communications management sphere.

In 1998 Mikhailov & Partners won its first Silver Archer national public relations prize in the “Best Project in the Economic Sphere” category. Mikhailov & Partners was declared Russia’s leading Business PR agency by independent research centre ROMIR in 2000-2002 and again by “Career” magazine’s PR consultancy companies in 2004.

During this period, Sergey Mikhailov became a member of IPRA, PRSA, RPRA, AKOS and the RF Union of Journalists, as well as a shareholder and publisher of the “So-obscheniye” magazine.

For 5 years starting in 2002 he was named amongst the 1,000 Most Professional Managers in Russia in the “Professional Services” category – a joint rating published by the Russian Managers Association and “Kommersant” newspaper. Sergey Mikhailov was also included in the Russian President’s Talent Pool for his professional achievements. He remains one of the most sought-after and highly paid consultants on the market and continues to advise top-tier clients on a personal basis.

In 2004 Sergey Mikhailov left the Agency to become an adviser to the CEO of Russian Railways and in 2006 became the head of the company’s Corporate Communications Department and a member of its Management Board, and was once again listed amongst the 1,000 Most Professional Managers in Russia.

His responsibilities include coordinating all Russian Railways’ public activities, managing its reputation and the railway media, advertising, and communications with key target audiences in Russia and abroad.

His best known achievements in this position are: design and introduction of a corporate communications policy and external communications system; delivery of Russian Railways’ rebranding; launch of a programme of information support for the structural reform of the railways (including running the first national railway congresses), the “Russia from a Train Window” photo project (which has been highly acclaimed at many international exhibitions, including the biggest international pavilions in New York, Paris, Shanghai, Madrid and a number of other countries). Mikhailov was involved in creating the film “The Edge” (2010, directed by Alexey Uchitel; Nika and Golden Eagle awards; listed for the Oscar and Golden Globe awards), in the celebrations of the 35th anniversary of the Baikal-Amur Railway, of the 120th anniversary of the Trans-Siberian Railways, of the 175th anniversary of the railway in Russia etc.

Mikhailov was one of the initiators of the “Strategic Partnership 1520” international railway business forum.

In the REBRAND 100 Global Awards 2011 international competition the Russian Railways rebranding was named amongst the 100 best. And Sergey Mikhailov himself won first place in the “Public and Corporate Relations 2011” category of the Russian Managers Association’s annual Top-1,000 Russian Managers rating.

He has been awarded a medal “For Development of the Railways” y the Russian President and has received numerous commendations and inscribed gifts from the CEO of Russian Railways.

Sergey is married with three children.

Сергей Владимирович Михайлов

Родился в 1971 году в Архангельске.

В 1988 поступает в МГИМО – Московский государственный институт международных отношений МИД России на факультет международной журналистики (отделение по связям с общественностью). Изучает арабский и английский. Во время обучения дважды проходит стажировки в университетах США. В 1990 становится одним из основателей Российской ассоциации по связям с общественностью (РАСО). Именно ему принадлежит авторство русскоязычной версии термина public relations – «развитие общественных связей». Один из основоположников этой профессии в России.

В 1992 становится партнером рекламного агентства «Корпорация «Я», в 1993 году – заканчивает институт, получает диплом по специальности «Связи с общественностью» и создает PR-агентство «Михайлов и Партнёры», которое и возглавляет более 10 лет. За это время Агентство успешно реализует свыше 1000 различных проектов в области управления коммуникациями.

В 1998 «Михайлов и Партнёры» получает первую Национальную премию в области связей с общественностью «Серебряный лучник» в номинации «Лучший проект в экономической сфере». В рейтингах независимого исследовательского центра РОМИР 2000-2002 и компаний-консультантов в области PR журнала «Карьера» в 2004 «Михайлов и Партнеры» признается ведущим российским Агентством в категории «Бизнес-PR».

В этот же период Сергей Михайлов становится членом IPRA, PRSA, РАСО, АКОС, Союза журналистов РФ и одним из акционеров и издателей журнала «Со-общение».

Начиная с 2002 года, на протяжении 5 лет он входит в число «1000 самых профессиональных менеджеров России» в категории «Профессиональные услуги» совместного рейтинга Ассоциации менеджеров России и газеты «Коммерсантъ». За профессиональные заслуги Сергей Михайлов был также включен в Кадровый резерв Президента России. Сергей остается одним из самых востребованных и высокооплачиваемых консультантов на рынке, продолжая лично работать с клиентами самого высокого уровня.

В 2004 Сергей Михайлов уходит из агентства на позицию советника президента, Члена Правления ОАО «РЖД», а в 2005 становится начальником департамента корпоративных коммуникаций, Членом Правления ОАО «Российские железные дороги» и вновь признается одним из «1000 самых профессиональных менеджеров России».

В его зону ответственности входит координация всех публичных действий компании, управление ее репутацией, руководство отраслевыми СМИ, реклама и коммуникации с основными целевыми аудиториями в России и за рубежом.

Наиболее известные достижения на этой позиции: разработка и внедрение внутрикорпоративной коммуникационной политики и системы внешних коммуникаций, проведение ребрендинга ОАО «РЖД», запуск программы информационного сопровождения структурной реформы на ж/д транспорте (включая проведение первых общероссийских железнодорожных съездов), реализация фотопроекта «Россия из окна поезда» (проект получил высокую оценку на многих международных выставках, включая крупнейшие мировые павильоны в Нью-Йорке, Париже, Шанхае, Мадриде и ряд других стран). Михайлов принимал участие в создании фильма «Край» (2010, реж. Алексей Учитель, «Ника», «Золотой орел», претендент на «Оскар» и «Золотой глобус»), празднование 35-летия Байкало-Амурской магистрали, 120-летия Транссиба, 175-летия железных дорог России и т.д.

Михайлов стоял у истоков создания Международного железнодорожного бизнес-форума «Стратегическое партнерство 1520».

На международном конкурсе REBRAND 100 Global Awards 2011 пример ребрендинга ОАО «РЖД» входит в число 100 лучших. А сам Сергей Михайлов занимает первое место в ежегодном рейтинге «ТОП-1000 российских менеджеров» Ассоциации менеджеров России в номинации «Рейтинг директоров по общественным и корпоративным связям 2011 года».

Указом Президента РФ награжден медалью «За развитие железных дорог». Многократно получал благодарности и именные подарки от Президента ОАО «РЖД».

Женат, воспитывает троих детей.